top of page
  • Brooke Bradford

A Fresh Perspective on Love


A day set to celebrate my favorite thing - love. The last two Valentines Days I have shared stories of epic fails, embarrassing experiences, and down right funny moments from my love life. I love sharing my experiences and knowing that they make others feel a little more comfortable with theirs. At the end of the day we’ve all had some pretty great heartbreaks and I hope we can normalize celebrating every part of it because I truly believe nothing is wasted in God’s economy.


In the last 365 days my life has changed pretty drastically. I look back at a-year-ago Brooke and I wish I could tell her so many things about what was to come. I could talk about this forever but most importantly I’d remind her that she is horrible with directions and that she should be real thankful that Jesus was about to take the wheel. I needed some real rerouting in life about what love looks like and about what should motivate it. God worked through a lot of alone time during quarantine, a good book, a podcast or two, and college, to radically change my understanding of love - and not the worldly kind but the Godly kind.


So, on this love day instead of giving you stories to laugh at I’m giving you stories that changed the way I celebrate the opportunity we have to love and be loved.


  • John 14:34-35

“So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples”

My favorite part of this is the reminder that love expressed isn’t just about relationships in terms of having a significant other or really great friends or the best parents in the world. It’s proof of our relationship with our Father.


  • Everybody Always, Bob Goff

One of my top five favorite books ever - everyone should read it. It’s a small how-to guide where Bob uses his personal experiences and uniquely shaped perspective to teach the reader how to walk the path of love. He does a beautiful job of making “love” a lifestyle and reminds you of how simple and simultaneously epic love is meant to be.


  • “Your Match” - The Porch by Watermark Church in Dallas, Texas

Dating in college especially for Christians can be very confusing. The culture of dating is vastly different from the kind of relationship the bible sets as an example. This episode really helped change my perspective on finding my person in the world today.


  • Commitment, Sanctus Real

Three minutes of reminders about love in the long term. It’s really cute :). There is this line that says “I wanna finish the way we started, just two broken souls clinging onto Jesus. We’ve seen his faithfulness and grace, and I wanna love you that way”. I’d say that’s a pretty beautiful way to be loved.


  • Youtube - SMC 2021 Main Session 4 - Brent Reinke

One of the most impactful sessions from a conference I went to this Christmas Break, Brent really dives into love at about 42 minutes and it is so. dang. good. If you don’t know what “agape” means you need to open a new tab, forget about this blog post, and go find out.


  • Outdated by Jonathan Pokluda *not out yet*

This is my last one and I haven’t actually read it yet because it’s only available for preorder right now but, if you’ve every thought you would’ve fit in better in the 50s or 60s because dating in 2021 is just not your style then I’d bet you’ll love this book. I’ve only ever been impressed by JP so I can only imagine how good this resource is gonna be.


No matter what your relationship status currently is I hope you know you are so ridiculously loved. I have so much faith in the partner God has picked for you to do life with. I pray that your future husband (or wife *insert winky face*) is preparing their heart to love you the same way our creator loves you. Happy Valentine's Day loveys.


Loving extra loud,

Brooke



131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page